Changes in CBSE Board Examination pattern

New Changes in CBSE Board Examination Pattern: 2023

Changes in CBSE Board Examination Pattern

Students buckle up as their exam time is approaching, The board bring new changes in CBSE Board Examination Pattern that are accommodating to the students as well as the teacher’s needs.

New Changes in CBSE Board Examination Pattern will include more competency based questions to test the practical knowledge of the student in situations based on real life. 

The board also decided that they should have only one exam at the end of the year’s session that’s based on the CBSE curriculum. These tests will cover the full syllabus from the whole year. 

This year’s pattern for class 10 and 12 marks breakdown of each unit gives an idea of how the students can plan their preparation units. 

Here are the new changes in the CBSE Pattern:

Class 10 Question Papers will have:

Question Type Percentage 
MCQ 40%
Competency Based Questions 20%
Subjective/long or short questions 40%

Class 12 Question Papers will have:

Question Type Percentage
Competency Based Test 30%
Objective Based 20%
Long/Short Type Responses 50%


  • It was also decided that at least 40% of the questions in classes 9 and 10 would be competency based. It can be any type of question – MCQ, Case-based or source-based questions. 

  • Internal Assessment marks for classes 10 and 12 will be based on unit tests, exploratory activities, practical exams and projects.
  • The students will be evaluated throughout the year.
  •  Class 10 will be given 3 hours to complete the whole paper.
  • Every school has to give 20 marks out of 100 for the internal assessments that will be administered by the school administration board.


  • These marks will be based on the periodic tests conducted by the subject and class teachers, submission of up-to-date notebooks, additional practicals or subject enhancement or enrichment events held at the school which include practicals, quizzes, narration or listening and speaking skills. 
  • Periodic tests are written tests and assignments that students give in the class and are graded by the teacher. These marks will help the teacher to evaluate the student’s preparation and if needed can help the student in preparing.
  • Marks for the notebook submissions are based on how regularly the students submit their notes to be checked by the teacher and if it is up to the mark. This also can be seen as an insight into the student’s classroom behaviour.

These changes in CBSE Board Examination pattern has changed the grading system as well and both classes 10 and 12 have their own grading system according to their breakdowns of subjects and curriculum. 

Grading system for class 12:

The grading of the class 12 students is on a 9 point basis. They are as follows:

            Points           Grade
  A1 91-100
  A2 81-90
  B1 71-80
  B2                  61-70
  C1 51-60
  C2 41-50
  D 31-40
  E1 21-30
  E2 0-20

Grading system for class 9 and 10:

Grade Points Grade Point
A1 91-100 10.0
A2 81-90 9.0
B1 71-80 8.0
B2 61-70 7.0
C1 51-60 6.0
C2 41-50 5.0
D 33-40 4.0
E1 21-32 C
E2 00-20 C

These changes in CBSE board examination in the academic pattern for the CBSE Syllabus just made studying and scoring easier for students. It helps in alleviating the stress for both the students and teachers as well. Now they can make better lesson plans and students can make a structured study plan and score well. 

Students can also practice the CBSE board sample question paper for class 10th (X) and Class 12th (XII), and get exam ready.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *